Among the most picturesque spots in Rome, the only monumental square in the city center that does not host a church, Campo de' Fiori is located halfway between Piazza Navona and Piazza Farnese and is the typical scenery of old Rome. The colorful market that animates the square is one of the most characteristics of the city. There moved from Piazza Navona in 1869, owes its name to a wonderful flower field, in which until '400, animals used to graze.
The market keeps wooden benches and shades that protect the goods from any climate. In 1440 the square was paved and built around it numerous inns and hotels for pilgrims. This makes the image almost unchanged compared to the photos of Alinari in the nineteenth century. At the center of the square stands the nineteenth-century statue of the philosopher Giordano Bruno, here burned in 1600 because considered heretical.
Aristocratically isolated, vast, and regular, Piazza Farnese is located in a quiet environment adorned by two large twin fountains of Egyptian granite that come from the Baths of Caracalla, whose accommodation is attributed to Girolamo Rainaldi.
The square is dominated by Palazzo Farnese, one of the most beautiful palaces of the Roman sixteenth century, started in 1517 by Antonio da Sangallo the Younger on the commission of Cardinal Alessandro Farnese, the future Pope Paul III (1534-1549). At the death of Sangallo the works were continued firstly by Michelangelo (1546-1549), then by Vignola (1569-1573) who designed the rear façade, and finally by Giacomo Della Porta, who completed the works in 1589.
On the first floor, the famous Gallery was frescoed between 1597 and 1604 by Annibale Carracci, assisted by his brother Agostino, Domenichino, and Giovanni Lanfranco, while the adjoining Sala dei Fasti Farnesiani was decorated with frescoes by Francesco Salviati and by the Zuccari.
To find out about all accessibility services, visit the Rome accessible section.