The Four Seasons by Antonio Vivaldi - Opera e Lirica | Turismo Roma
Vive Roma, descubre Roma
Servicios turísticos y oferta cultural
Your tailor-made trip

Social Block

You are here

The Four Seasons by Antonio Vivaldi - Opera e Lirica

Music representing the moods of the four seasons has always been popular, and baroque composers such as Werner and Fischer among others produced cycles of concertos representing the fours seasons. But none were to do so in such precise pictorial detail as Antonio Vivaldi in his Four Seasons concerto!

The whole Baroque epoch showed a deep interest in the amazing natural changes determined by the seasons. Bernini itself represented them in its fine sculptures. Baroque art has a dramatic conception of the relationship between man and nature and between man and the universe. Galileo’s discoveries brought about a shift in the position of man, who was no longer at the center of the cosmos. As a consequence, a new attitude of awe and wonder towards the power of nature emerged.

Vivaldi’s Four Seasons are a symbol of his era. Not only is the feeling of astonishment conveyed by his spectacular description of nature, but also by his musical language. The composition aims at astounding the listener with unusual melodies, created through increased rhythm and higher harmonic contrast. His music is thus freer, more fluid and able to better describe the story it wishes to narrate. The scenes range from the chirp of different birds in spring, to summer storms, from fleeing foxes in autumn, to teeth chattering and rain pouring down in winter. In accordance with the highest expression of baroque concepts, nature is dramatized, and the audience feels actively involved in the rapid succession of events taking place in the work of art.

Witness the evocative power of Vivaldi's "The Four Seasons" in Palazzo Carpegna of Rome. The most famous of Vivaldi’s works, and revolutionary example of Italian Baroque music, performed by Opera e Lirica Academy strings quintet and harpsichord.

First violin: Elvin Dhimitri
Strings quintet


Fisrt Time

Concerto F XI No.4 in A Major
Concerto “La Rustica” RV 151 in G Major
Concerto RV 127 in D Minor

Second Time

Concerto No.1 in E Major, RV 269, “SPRING”
Concerto No.2 in G Minor, RV 315, “SUMMER”
Concerto No.3 in F Major, RV 293, “AUTUMN”
Concerto No.4 in F Minor, RV 297, “WINTER”


desde 11 Enero 2024 hasta 30 Mayo 2024
POINT (12.483628 41.901691)
338 1218424
Web site:

11-18-25 January 2024
1-8-15-22-29 February 2024
1-15-21 March
4-11-18-26 April 2024
2-9-16-23-30 May 2024

OPENING TIME h. 20.00 
START TIME h. 20.30 
END TIME h. 22.00 
BREAK 10 minutes between the two acts

Reduced Ticket: 
Share Condividi


Le Quattro Stagioni di Vivaldi - Opera e Lirica, Piazza dell'Accademia di San Luca, 77
Piazza dell'Accademia di San Luca, 77
41° 54' 6.0876" N, 12° 29' 1.0608" E

Media gallery

Node Json Map Block

Mapa interactivo